Black-Capped ...

... Chickadee.

Before we got out for our walk this afternoon I sat in the backyard photographing whatever came within range of my camera.  Lots and lots of birds ... plus lots of squirrels.

I've identified this little chickadee as a black-capped variety over the Carolina chickadee based on the white edging on his/her wings.  The two species are almost identical!  As you would imagine from the name the Carolina chickadees are found in the south but with the temperatures increasing here in the north they have made their way steadily north so now the range for the Carolina chickadees and the black-capped chickadees overlap.  

I had a good day photographing the birds and I've added a couple in the Extra photos ... I still have 20 extra photos to use before the end of the year!  Extra #1 is a dark-eyed junco and Extra # 2 is Blue Jay.  All my birds today are my favorites so I couldn't leave anyone out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.