Windmill 'De Walvisch', Schiedam

'Walvisch' -- do NOT pronounce the 'ch' -- so just 'Walvis' and means 'whale'.  Thankfully, it does not look like one!
'Schiedam' = 'SHKHiedam'
This is the 7th windmill out of the eight, so I'm almost done with Schiedam.

Before driving to Schiedam, though, passed by Delft to try to get better shots of The Rose.  The miller, who waved to me when he noticed I was busy, had turned it to face the other way, but, well, we can't always have wonderful shots in lovely meadows or bubbling brooks.  Sometimes, like in the extra, the mills are situated next to rumbling train tracks and are garlanded with power lines.  Not the most ideal location, but, as we all know, 'ideal' and 'real' are two different things.  The extra is just as Dutch as all the other beautiful ones.  Including the weather, too.

Not the best day for the hunt, although we did have some sun, actually just a wee bit, but I wanted to clear some cobwebs.  The Donkey did just fine, but the cobwebs did not clear.  Maybe because I only had about three hours of sleep, but that was not it.  I am suddenly anxious about many things.  No need to enumerate, but, aside from a terminal illness, what would you be worried about?  Right.  The end of the tunnel is not dark but the walk towards it feels longer than usual.  Will get there, a matter of patience.  That said, it has been a rather trying year, and I think that that's an understatement.

Bookkeeping will resume tomorrow, but I did manage to fix a little issue, so that was okay.  AW logged in to play bridge online, all non-tournament games, and I amused myself with my own games.  The bedroom window was causing a little draft and he fixed that.  Odds and ends all.  Generally feeling just plain tired.  The hunt was not as grey as I was.  One day at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.