An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Decisions! Decisions!

I don't want to speak too soon, but when I got up this morning my hip felt much looser and less painful than its felt in weeks.   I've moved very cautiously all day waiting for the familiar ache and gnawing pain to begin...but it hasn't!  I really hope this means I have turned a corner!

It's been a day full of busy little jobs for me so the day has disappeared in a blink!  

Thankfully I remembered that Carole is coming to trim Lola tomorrow morning so had to get her birthday and Christmas pressies wrapped and cards written (we received our first Christmas cards yesterday, which was a shock as I'd forgotten all about Christmas cards!  Writing them will be a job for Sunday afternoon :-) as I probably won't see her again before Christmas.

LeeAnne and Gail are visiting at the weekend for our usual Christmas get together so had to get their gifts looked out and wrapped too.  As I did so I was pondering that it didn't seem that long since our last Christmas get-together....then I remembered that's because it was in May!

That done I checked the rest of the gifts I've bought against my list and made another list of items still to be purchased.  I did all this sitting at my table in the studio feeling very frustrated that I wasn't painting.  Because my sciatica has been so bad I've not been able to sit on my office chair for weeks, which means I've not been able to paint.  I am hoping if I carry on as I  did today (sitting at my desk for an hour without any adverse effects) then I will be back in the studio painting next week.

Once that was done I devoted a few hours to my Tesco order that's arriving tomorrow and to planning the festive menus.  As well as Gail and LeeAnne at the weekend, we have John and Norma coming up for dinner and staying over on Tuesday, then it's David's birthday on the 16th and thereafter there's Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day to sort out.  

I think I know what I will be making for all of these occasions (Saturday and Tuesday's meals are sorted) I just need to get the rest written down and an ingredient list created, which I need to do PDQ as the cut off date for ordering from our local butcher is next week. I've been pouring over the order list this evening.  If only he didn't give so much choice!  

I know.  First world problems.

PS David and Lola met up with our friends T & V and their Golden Retriever Milly for their morning walk today.  They bumped into a lady who was walking a two year old GR called Lily.  The three dogs played beautifully together so the lady joined them on their walk.  After a bit Milly and Lily began to misbehave and run off and turn deaf ears to their owner's calls and whistles.  T was getting particularly irate with Milly as she's seven and should know better (says T! :-)  Much to David's delight Lola behaved beautifully, with perfect recall and followed every command!  David was very chuffed and proud of her, although he suspects the treats the new lady had in her coat pocket may have something to do with it!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.