Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Bird Bonanza

When we arrive at The Spinnies it’s still raining - albeit lightly. The light’s far from ideal, but the tide is high and passing photographers tell us there’s a kingfisher about. Sadly, we get no sightings, but our visit is rewarded by a plethora of other birds. 

The feeders are overrun with querulous goldfinches - certainly not a ‘charm’ as they seem to attack one another in the hope of getting the biggest share of seeds. 

There’s a nuthatch that keeps briefly flying in, leaving me struggling to get a decent shot before he leaves again for the trees. And there’s the brilliant red of bullfinch plumage in the lakeside vegetation. Chaffinches make tentative forays to the hanging feeders before returning to ground feeding, and a brilliant mossy greenfinch makes an appearance in the branches. 

No kingfisher - and that has to be a disappointment - but this avian  treasure chest is a pretty impressive consolation prize. 

It’s hard - again - to choose my main, but the nuthatch makes it as I’ve wanted to photograph one for so long! Then in extras there’s a collage of some other song birds, a solo goldfinch, and a further collage of the goldfinch wars! 

Thank you for your lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s baroque feather. Unfortunately, I forget to reset the white balance settings on my camera, so despite my efforts to correct this, the colours of my birds may be a little bluer than I’d like! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.