Xmas Jigsaw No. 2

I’ve finished my 2nd xmas jigsaw and started on my 3rd now. First thing I had an appt with the nurse for a routine blood test and blood pressure check. Then I had a go at this year’s Christmas Challenge. I was 1 of 5 friends that walked regularly in Milton Keynes. G moved to Holt, then I followed and V has just mored away too. We chat most days on What’s App and every year we do a Christmas Challenge. This year’s challenge is to create a small Christmas or Winter-themed picture using any materials we choose on a canvas supplied. We submit our entry by providing a photo, and another friend acts as the judge. I really enjoyed the challenge, but I can tell you now that I won’t be winning!!! Then as it was dry for a change, I went out picking up leaves, raking them off the lawn and doing a final cut with the lawnmower. 

Day 634 / Day 1of Plan B (for my record only)
The R rate in England is unchanged at 0.9 - 1.1, with a daily growth rate of between -1% and 2%. The ONS weekly infection survey of private households to 1st Dec (only 4 day week from last survey?) shows 1 in 60 with the virus in England (unchanged); 1 in 80 in Scotland (down); 1 in 50 in Wales (down a tad); and 1 in 45 in NI (unchanged). As the cut off has been bought forward, this looks out of date to me. The UK reported 58,194 new cases today, the highest since 9th Jan this year. 448 more Omicron cases were reported in the UK , taking the today to 1,139 and the UKHSA says it is expected to be the dominant variant by mid Dec. The UKHSA also said that analysis of 581 Omicron cases showed a dramatic drop in effectiveness for 2 doses of AZ and a significant drop for 2 doses of Pfizer, but the 3rd dose increased effectiveness against getting Covid symptoms to between 70-75%. Masks became mandatory in most indoor venues in England today (I’ve picked this as the 1st day of Plan B). Public Health Scotland says they  ‘strongly urge people to defer their Christmas parties to another time.’ Nicola Sturgeon said ‘we may be starting to experience a potential tsunami of infections’, and that Omicron could be the dominant strain in Scotland ‘maybe as early as the beginning of next week’. Household contacts of a Covid positive person in Scotland must now isolate for 10 days. Downing St has cancelled their xmas party. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.