Busy Birds

The birds were very busy today, getting the food they need to keep alive. I saw something the other day that said the tit family have to eat half their body weight every day in really cold weather to stay alive. It was on Winterwatch 1963 and they also said that half our birds are thought to have died that amazingly cold winter, how shocking. I had visits to the garden today by both a green and a greater spotted woodpecker, lovely birds. It only got to 0C for an hour today, so it was definitely a duvet day. Apart from topping up the bird feeders and nipping to the garage for some paint, I didn’t even go out for a newspaper. I watched one of my favourite films this afternoon, A Matter of Life and Death, starring David Niven. Good luck to England tonight. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.