Bridge over troubled water

I met my friend Keith this morning down at the Soroba Lane bridge, opposite Tesco in Oban. I'd arranged to meet him as he has a small grappling hook which we've used to pull trolleys out of the Black Lynn Burn before. 

Just as we were about to begin the heavens opened, so we had to stand in the bus shelter for five minutes. I thought there was a couple of trolleys down below the bridge, but having managed to pull them both out there was obviously another one stuck in the mud. Having got that one out there was still something metallic poking out of the muddy bottom and when Keith finally hooked it it proved to be a rusty kids' bike, or should I say a kids' rusty bike!

We had a look over the other side of the bridge and found a fourth one which we recovered. I know there's a fifth one further up, but we couldn't find a way of getting access to it.  So we had two from Tesco and two from Lidl and pushed them all back to their respective homes, dripping mud and pondweed! The bike we stuck in a litter bin - I wish I'd taken a picture of it! 

What a sad life when the kids amuse themselves by chucking trolleys over the bridge! What an equally sad life when we oldies amuse ourselves by hauling them out!

So that was the good deed done for the day! On the way home I did a litter pick and filled half a bag. It was good to come in and sit down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.