A Bonus Day

We had no reason
to expect a sunny day -
but I will take it!!!

~ carliewired

I was up ridiculously early. Had my coffee pot on the go by 6 AM. Then was out on my deck watching the sun come over the hill by 8:20. 

The forecast had been grim. I was fully expecting to find snow all over when I got up. Somehow, we've been granted a reprieve. It was sunny and 1 C when I left the house at 9:30 heading for McArthur Island. 

I was interested to see how the ducks were faring. There was only a very small patch of open ice for them in the slough. I found many were squatted down on the ice in the shade. Some were hanging out at the south end of the foot bridge in the sun. I think this is where people feed them so they come back to the spot often. A man came along the path pushing a stroller with a small lad in it. The toddler was very keen on the ducks, so the man let him out of the stroller to wander with the ducks by the bridge. 

I walked across the bridge to get a shot of my mountains, then headed back to my truck. I noticed the 'goosebuster' was in service in the playing field across the road. As I watched, the remote-controlled gizmo ran towards a small flock of Canada geese on the grass. Its propeller was whirring and it made its annoying buzzing sound. The flock lifted into the air with a great deal of honking and flew off towards the river. I'm not understanding why the geese are targeted in the winter months. I understand how the geese make messes in the good weather when the public is using these spaces heavily. Winter is another story completely. 

I was home by 10:30 and it's back to my quilting today. A pan of Swedish meatballs might be nice. 

The weather forecast indicates a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 4 C. It is far better than was originally forecast. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.