Coffee at the Ivy

From the busyness of the City centre this morning, I wonder if people are beginning to worry that things are about to go back into lockdown.

I was very surprised that the Ivy Restaurant was completely booked at 9:45 am and people were being turned away. Fortunately my school friend and I had a reservation but we seemed to have the last available table.

If there is any advantage to being in God’s waiting room then it must be the luxury of having a civilised and leisurely coffee on a Monday morning. I have to remember that in the time of my grandmother, life at my age was not as obliging- no household work saving machines to provide leisurely moments even if there had been any cafés available. Like me she lived in a time of a pandemic- Spanish Flu, which lasted 2 years and killed millions. I wonder how long Covid will last in its present virulent form.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.