Marionb

By Marionb

The Jury Is In.....

...But I Have Not Heard the Verdict Yet....

...because I am not on Facebook!  Our local art gallery representatives are  live on Facebook, at this very moment, as I write, announcing the award winners of their current 29th Annual Juried Art Exhibition. 

This is of interest to me only because today, in search of something uplifting to do on a rainy day, I went down to the gallery to see the exhibit and now am curious to see which entries the jury considered to be the best pieces of work. 

This year's theme for the show is "There's a little of every artist in their work." Members of the gallery were asked to submit works that show how their art contains their life experiences, how it tells a story about them. It was really interesting and a bit of a challenge today to look at each piece in that context and try to figure out what that piece was saying about the artist who created it...but will I ever really know? Perhaps if I were on Facebook, I would. Surely that will come up in the presentation!

Whatever.... I really enjoyed the exhibit. The entries were all so different -  paintings, sculptures, photographs, wood carvings, mixed media pieces and even a hooked rug! 

I have chosen three for my blip - I like them all, but chose them and not others I also liked, only because I accidentally happened to include the artist's name in my original photographs!  I was hesitant to post something for which I could not give credit to its creator...

Main: Now and Then. Acrylic on stretched canvas, by Barry Smylie
Extra top: Gradual Decline. Oil on canvas, by Sue Miller
Extra bottom: (oops. I do not have its title). Watercolour, by Terry Gill

I am still trying to figure out what each is saying about the artist...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.