Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Right -eyed

Most photographers use their right eye as their primary eye to the lens; in fact cameras are designed to accommodate right eyed shooting.  I, however, have been using my left eye for 13 years - it's natural for me.  Today, I decided to try shooting with my right eye, allowing my left eye to provide peripheral vision to anticipate when something was approaching my field of view.  Wow, it was hard!  I had to close my left eye in order to get the viewfinder aligned to my right (I'm not sure if that makes any sense, but it worked).  Then, I could carefully open my left eye.  In a fast-paced situation I would have missed just about every shot, but being in my yard helped and I did manage to get some decent shots.  This is going to require a whole re-learning for me, but I am determined to do it.  So, this is one of the very first pictures I've ever taken with a digital camera using my right eye - a lovely male northern cardinal.

Met up with some friends this morning for a 2-mile meander along some lakes and woodlands.  It was most enjoyable with very pleasant temps.  And I thoroughly enjoyed my wide field of sight.  I will confess to feeling a little emotional a couple of times.  We ended the morning with 31 species of birds,  not bad!

I just took my scleral lens out - my eye is a little red and scratchy so I probably should have taken it out sooner.  But it only took me 4 tries to get the thing in this morning which was shocking.  It took me way more tries than that to get the sort contact out of the other eye last night.  Going to have to watch a YouTube video before I take it out tonight.  I obviously don't know what I'm doing.

One of my friends made delicious homemade chocolate mint cookies so I had one of those instead of a square of dark.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.