Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wide Festive Wednesday

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting Wide Wednesday with the theme Festive Scene this week. I have used an extremely liberal interpretation of the theme....

This is a phone selfie of my eyes, cropped wide. And while there may be nothing festive looking about a pair of aging eyes, the festive part is that they aren’t wearing glasses! Yes, I got both my contact lens (left eye) and my Scleral lens (right eye) this morning! Just not wearing glasses for the first time in who knows how many years is cause for joy, but the special lens in my right eye now allows me to see clearly for the first time since I have brain surgery in early 2008. And that, my friends, makes this a very festive image for me!

In reality, the scleral lens is going to require some adjustments over the next few weeks before it’s perfect, but I am on my way to 20/20 vision in both eyes. And, my insurance is going to cover the entire cost of the scleral, which is fabulous because it’s an expensive piece of glass.

To celebrate, I went into the optical shop and bought a ridiculously expensive pair of sunglasses, a luxury I’ve never indulged in before. Then off to the drug store to get a supply of all the cleaning, sterilizing and filling ingredients for the lens. And in a short while, I will attempt to get the soft contact out of my left eye. That should be fun.

Anyway, a good day. And Jax has been remarkably well behaved. He seems to be losing some of his fear of the leash now. Silly cur. He is curled up on the sofa next to me right now, snoring.

Just plain dark today.

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.