pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Crazy 88

Following a day off which featured a little more Christmas shopping, a viewing of the new Spiderman film (absolutely brilliant btw) and a quick stroll featuring a cemetery (not as depressing as it sounds and it gave me a blip!) I couldn’t wait to pick the children up from school today - usually they’re in after-school club while I work, so being there at 3.15 never happens for me - but unfortunately my excitement was quickly trashed by some awful behaviour from m’boy, who came out of school on the last day of term in an absolutely foul mood.

We ended up exchanging some words (I’m ashamed to say that a decidedly unfestive expletive may have slipped out from me) and eventually, he realised that he’d been acting like an ungrateful spoiled arse, throwing himself into me, and apologising over a tearful hug. I think it’s been a long term for them and with the benefit of hindsight, he’s probably shattered, maybe a little under the weather and everything has just caught up with him. Let’s go with that. Not sure why I feel the need to document all this, but I guess I feel it is important to be truthful in a journal?

We moved on from the incident and I made us all a decent hot chocolate (complete with squirty cream) and then we had a giggle playing a game of hoopla with inflatable rings being tossed over inflatable elves. I’d also booked us dinner at The Brewery in Kendal as a little end of term treat. As disappointed in him as I was earlier, I was proud when taking him and The Youngest to a nice restaurant, where they behaved impeccably and were charming company, both of them doing well to get through even half of the oversized and overpriced burgers they were served (the remaining burger was doggybagged).

It was still quite early when we left the restaurant, the night cold and clear. We had been counting Christmas trees in windows on our walk in and I was keen for them to see the main one in the town centre all lit up, so we took a wander in and I was pleased to see that they were suitably impressed (extra). By the time we returned home, we had spotted 88 trees on our route. 

Our evening was rounded off with us once again donning our matching pyjamas in from of a roaring fire and watching Arthur Christmas. 

The holidays tend to mess with our usual routine, so when the children return to their mother tomorrow, I won’t see them until Wednesday and despite it all, boy am I going to miss them.

Happy weekend all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.