pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Boost

The good thing about being a former pantomime dame is that your tolerance for experiencing shame or embarrassment is very high. So when I heard the unexpected approaching beep of the bin lorry and the sudden accompanying rumble of wheelie bins from down the street, I had no issue in charging out of the house first thing, clad only in my Christmas pyjamas to put the bin out.

Whilst I don’t anticipate this to be a regular occurrence, I would be lying if I said that experiencing the gentle brisk caress of the cold winter’s morn without underwear on, was nothing if not invigorating. For the benefit of any unfortunate onlookers and in my defence: it really was very brisk.

It’s been a rather lovely day. The children played nicely until pickup after which time I headed into town for m’booster. I am no fan of this government BUT the vaccine rollout has been superb, so well organised.

It’s been a mostly glorious day weather-wise, just a little bit of mist creeping in, but otherwise beautiful, so after the jab, I scoffed a bacon sandwich and then slung a camera and a bottle of water into my rucksack and for the first time in a long while, headed off to do the river walk.

I was delighted to find that a lot of the flood work, which had closed certain parts of the path, was now completed meaning that I could walk my preferred route. I savoured every step, pausing intermittently to take a few shots (see extras - they need using up) here and there, but I was particularly pleased with the tree.

So nice to be outside and back in nature once more. Hadn’t realised how much I’d missed and needed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.