pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Cookie Monster

It was a high-risk play. Turning up to meet Simmo without having baked some cookies. What was I was thinking?

Sure, I had her Christmas presents for the exchange and some hot chocolate in the flask, but I had seen her no-cookie rage before and knew that I was playing with fire. Fortunately, by the time we had reached the summit of School Knott (having first negotiated our way past some suspicious cows “who might eat us”) I think she was ready for a hot drink and a snack. We demolished the shop-bought crumble mince pies, sipped our drinks and took in the stunning panoramic view, which seemed to extinguish any cookie-rage fires.

The cloud inversion over Windermere was stunning, running the full length of the lake and lending a very chilly morning to those at lake-level. On top where the sun had reached it was a different story and I found myself loosening clothing and <shock horror> removing my bobble hat to let the air get around my head.

It was just what I needed. The booster shot of yesterday had left me feeling pretty bleurgh if the truth be told, but I was determined not to sit around for the whole day feeling sorry for myself – just the afternoon was fine. It was nice to catch up in person with Simmo too, we hadn’t seen each other for a few weeks, but being the good friend that she is and knowing how low I had been in the last couple of weeks, she’d been checking in periodically to insult me.

Arriving home I was tired and not feeling good, so gave myself a break and lost the rest of the day to eating rubbish and watching far too much TV. 

It has been a lovely restorative weekend, which should hopefully make the final three working days before the Christmas break more bearable after which time, seven consecutive days off await. 

Heaven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.