A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Tea time treats

from Yorkshire Treats in the former public toilets in our village!

Walked up to church on this very murky morning to help Chris transfer toys into his car from our Toy Service last week.
The centre of the village is about to be dug up for a suspected gas leak so there is a 4 way traffic light set up which is going to cause traffic chaos but was actually beneficial to us today as the constant pauses in traffic gave us time to cross the road with armfuls of toys 

The new toys that were donated have gone to Airedale Hospital for use on the children's wards and the used toys are going to the Salvation Army. There were certainly plenty donated.

The church is right opposite The Yorkshire Treats Company so, as my son is coming tonight for his tea instead of tomorrow (Carol service), I decided to pop in to get something for afters. Chris has put three lamb shanks in the slow cooker so these will do nicely to finish off. Strawberry Tarts and Manchester Tarts. Manchester Tart for me and Strawberry for Chris, one of each for Alex to chose from or maybe have both! ( I might be lucky and have one left for tomorrow)

When I got home I watched ‘The Snowman and the Snowdog’ on Channel 4. It has the lovely song ‘Light the Night’ in it which our singing group has recently learned and should have been singing in Roberts Park this lunchtime but as you know everything has been cancelled due to our leader having Covid.

I enjoyed the animation, which I think has become my new favourite by Raymond Briggs,  and managed to sing the harmony along with the song. I think it will be a favourite in our repertoire next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.