A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Last bauble

This is the only remaining new bauble that I’ve not shown yet. I didn’t buy it, it was a very kind gift so I thought it should be blipped.

I’d been discussing memories of childhood Christmas trees with a friend and fellow chorister at church. The first one I can remember was artificial with branches like bottle brushes and I was commenting on how amazing it was that in those days, before tree lights and health and safety,  you put clip candle holders on the branches and lit candles!
My other memory is of clear pale blue baubles, probably very thin glass as I don’t think there were any plastic ones then so I expect they just didn’t survive as we found nothing when we cleared my mother’s home.

A few days later he presented me with this lovely clear bauble. I love it’s iridescence and it was a most thoughtful act as although I have nothing on the tree from my childhood I will remember him and our conversation whenever I put this on the tree.

Cold in church this morning and some slippery paths on the walk up. We have our Carol Service tonight and I’m sure it will be warm by then but I can’t imagine that many people will want to come out. Not in best voice either but it is a service of worship and not a  concert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.