A Christmas Carol

I’m re-reading A Christmas Carol, my favourite book, so much better than any film/tv adaptations. A few years ago a bought a lovely version with magical illustrations by Robert Ingpen, my favourite illustrator. I thought the cover desaturated would make a nice mono for the challenge, the striking style of dress of Scrooge, rhymes as per the challenge with ‘bless’. 

I was going to watch a new blu ray this afternoon, but I ran out of time. I made some veg soup this morning, so had some peelings for the compost bin. Whilst I had my coat and shoes on, I thought I’d empty my two big water butts to prevent them freezing and cracking. Then I noticed the moss of the edge of the driveway near the drain I was emptying the water into and removed it. Then I noticed some weeds to remove in a flower bed at the edge of the driveway. The moss reminded me to remove the debris in my gutters front and back at the corners where two roofs meet……..I might just put the peelings in my waste bin next time!!!

Day 644 / Day 11 of Plan B (for my record only)
91,743 new cases today. It’s being reported that ministers have pushed back at the CSA’s call at the weekend for more restrictions before xmas to prevent the NHS being overwhelmed - sounds to me like they’re taking a desperate gamble to try to keep their jobs. Boris has just said after a cabinet meeting that the Covid situation is ‘extremely difficult’, that data is being reviewed ‘hour by hour’ and that ‘we will have to reserve the possibility of taking further action to protect the public and our NHS.’ Independent SAGE says ‘Omicron is very transmissible. If anyone in a moderately-sized social gathering indoors (e.g. ten people meeting up in a house for Christmas dinner) has Omicron, most people are likely to become infected, regardless of vaccine status.’ A member of Nervtag says scientists are surprised by Omicron’s properties and that the virus might have altered the way it infects cells. 12-15 year olds can now book their 2nd vaccine. The Education Secretary says that former teachers are needed to retain face to face teaching given Omicron. The World Economic Forum in Davos in Jan has been cancelled due to the virus. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.