Festive train staff

I loved the be-antlered LNER staff at Kings Cross station this afternoon. I snapped this shot just before we caught our train to West Sussex from St Pancras. Fortunately we were only in London for a very short time, so I didn't have to hold my breath for very long ;-)

Our rail journey went very smoothly. We even enjoyed a surprise mini blipmeet at the very start when we saw SallyMair on Albany Street on our walk up to Waverley station. Between Edinburgh and London I read the Sunday paper. This is something that I haven't done in a long time, and I would love to get back into this habit. Then I watched yesterday's edition of Antiques Roadshow. I was interested to learn about Claud Lovat Fraser and see some of his art work. It looked very similar to that of a certain Lorna Lloyd. I wonder if she knew, and was inspired by this work, herself? For the remainder of the journey I watched Reel stories with Sting. This was also very interesting, mainly for the main subject of the programme, but also because it featured some footage of the Esso Northumbria, launched by Princess Anne on 2nd May 1969 - with 6 year old hazelh in attendance. (I should say that the presence of the ship was incidental and that neither Princess Anne nor I featured in any of the clips.)

We are now settling in at my in-laws' house for a couple of days. It's two years since we were last here, and only the second time that Mr hazelh has seen his mother since the start of the pandemic. (She was very pleased to see him last time!)

Exercise today: small amount of walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.