Memories...

...although at 21 months I don't think I actually remember the day! One of the best things about having a few days at mums, otherwise known as 'home' - is the many photographs that adorn every surface and wall space. This is a relatively new one to be framed and put out on display - albeit of an event more than 50 years ago. It was Dave and Sue's wedding. Mum's youngest brother. This is a group of Whitakers with mums eldest brother Bob and his wife Olive and their son (my cousin) Steven. Then Aunty Eileen, mum's sister holding my hand. Then obviously mum and dad. I like the picture, so thought worth sharing! Their brother Ken had already emigrated to New Zealand around mid 50's, and Eileen followed on, not long after Dave and Sue's wedding in 1967 but before Manda was born. Mum is about 8 months pregnant in this photo. Eileen delayed her departure hoping to meet her new niece, but Manda was so late, she had to go before she was born! Bob, Olive and their family, emigrated a few years later - much to Eileen's dismay. The two youngest Mum and David remained in the UK with their families.

I worked from 7am until 4.30pm with a dash up the road at lunch time to buy a phone charging cable in argos! I was very careful to fully sanitise in shops, and keep my distance, following messages today from close friends who have all had family members struck down with covid, which has devastated Christmas plans. I feel for them and don't want the same to happen to us. I picked up an early Christmas present for myself in oxfam - 1979 Cliff Richard album on vinyl that I don't have. I even had a chat with the lady in the shop. A refreshing change to my usual lunchtime routine.

After work took mum over to Manda's to drop off some gifts. They were frantically packing for Christmas so I tried to make myself useful.

Nothing i have to do tonight but I'm sure I'll find something...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.