FLETCH AND THE HOAD

What a lovely day today, not weatherwise but friend wise.  I met up with CumbriaLass and Fletch.  We were meeting up in Ford Park and then walking up to The Hoad - the monument to Sir John Barrow.  

The journey for me to Ulverston was OK, I got a slight hold up once I got to the Booth's roundabout due to an abnormally wide load coming through, which required two police cars and police motorcycle.  However, this only held me up for a couple of minutes.  Unfortunately for CumbriaLass it held her up more because it was coming from her direction.  Still she was only delayed by about 10 minutes so not too bad.  

Whilst I was waiting for her I popped into The Base just for a coffee and warm up and then had a walk around the main field.  Quite a few children about but not too many.   

Then after a joyful greeting with Katch and Fletch - who was overjoyed to have arrived.  We set off up The Hoad.  Now I've never actually been to the top before, despite the fact that I volunteered at St Margaret's Hospice for a couple of years and the office I was based in was right at the foot of the fell that it is situated on and I could see it daily.  I wasn't sure whether I'd make it up there, but I did as we took it steady and enjoyed the views. 

Sadly it was such a grey day today so there wasn't quite the far reaching views that you can sometimes get apparently, but they were still good nonetheless.  I will do a collage once I've edited all the photos I took, but I just wanted to get my blip done for the day so just did this one of Fletch at the top of The Hoad.  He loved it, lots of new things to sniff, roll round in and explore.

We had a good catch up, took several photos and then got back down to The Base for a very nice lunch.  It wasn't busy and the service and food was good.  Last time I went there, which was about 3 years ago now, they did coffee and cake or sandwiches - it's not more sophisticated than that but still lovely nonetheless.

It was then time to wend our way home.  It's just too cold to stand around and chat for too long.  We're hoping to go up there again, on a really nice day, during the week when schools are in session.  

Do take care everyone and stay safe and I hope you've all managed to get all your vaccinations and boosters.  I do feel a little more confident  having had all of mine.

See you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.