JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 355: Sunshine in the garden

I decided I could photograph the curly kale before I picked it, and was happy that a bit of wan sun broke through the cloud as I put my wellies on. The kale was nicely beaded with raindrops, but even in the sun I struggled to get the depth of field I wanted. There were other options though: neat rows of water drops lying like peas in a pod on blades of grass, bizarre wet textures on the large, furry leaves of an unknown weed, and just as I finished, a shaft of low solstice sunlight on this grass head. The sun strengthened, and it was good to be in the vegetable garden for a while: I inspected the Brussels sprouts and cavallo nero, admired the colour of the ruby chard, and even did a bit of rather superficial weeding around the kale. I came in with a good tray of kale and, thanks to the first good light in at least a week, more choice of photos than I've managed for some time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.