JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 356: Solstice Sunrise

It was very chilly on the balcony in my dressing gown, with a heavy frost whitening the valley, but it was worth the shivering! (This probably doesn't count as a Wide Wednesday sky - wrong lens on the camera when I grabbed it as the colours started to fade - but I will tag it anyway, as I think it's wide in spirit!)

J's online art talk group looked at winter landscapes this morning, and with both her PAs now on holiday, I was supporting her. She had chosen some lovely ones to share: Breughel's famous "Hunters in the Snow" with its gorgeous colours, composition and detail; one of the Monet haystacks in the snow, from the National Gallery of Scotland, which we looked at for a long time when she was younger, fascinated with the colours used to paint snow; a lovely Hockney Yorkshire landscape, and a Hokusai woodblock print of Mount Fuji in a snowstorm. Usually they choose an artist, but focusing on a theme worked well. 

The other achievement today is that I helped her to finish tweaking the editing of her animated Christmas card. J and Susanne animated it last week, P wrote music, and it's now ready to email to friends and then to share online on Christmas day. It's simple but pretty. I will share the link on Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.