A Cold Walk

No sun appeared for
me this morning and I froze
my face and fingers

~ carliewired

I was enjoying my first coffee at 6:30 AM.  We had had the threat of snow overnight, but none materialized. 

I decided at 8:30 I should get out with my camera. It was grey and cloudy and -5 C with a bit of a wind. 

I drove into McArthur Island Park and began to scout around for wildlife. Very few walkers were out on the Rivers Trail, only the hale and hardy. I caught a glimpse of fleeting deer as I drove past the Butterfly Garden. I stopped long enough to walk across the foot bridge to get a shot of my mountains to the east. Someone had scattered corn along the bridge. There were no ducks to be seen anywhere. Hopefully, they will find the corn before the next snowfall. 

I drove over to the southside of the island where I can look out over the Thompson River to the south shore. A bleary-eyed sun was trying very hard to put in a show. I walked along the Rivers Trail to the area of the disc golf course. There were the white-tailed deer browsing under the trees. I was thankful for my telephoto lens. I didn't really want to approach them stomping through the snow. 

Walking back to the truck I realized my hands and face felt frozen. It was time to head home. 

My daughter will arrive to help me decorate more cookies today. I hope she will stay long enough to help me with the leftovers in my fridge. 

We are promised some snow flurries today and a high of -1 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.