Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The shack at the edge of the woods

I haven’t done anything “derelict” in ages but when Hubs and I were walking with Jax today, this caught my eye. I’ve probably blipped it before, but maybe not at just this time of year.

I went to a local from today and picked up some poultry, boar and beef as well as some fresh boar sausage raviolis. The farmer was so nice and gave me lots of great advice on how to cook the boar, which I plan to do to tonight. I’d really like to stop buying grocery store meat and chicken, even though local is a bit more $$. I like the idea that the animals have been raised humanly, that they’ve fed on local feed, and that I can support some of these small farms.

I also headed to the grocery store to get what I need for the rest of the week/weekend. I’m going to serve the local chicken (roasted, maybe spatchcocked) for Christmas.

Jax has been more low-key than usual today so our play time has been a bit less crazy. A nice long walk in the woods also helped keep him calm. He’s still chewing like crazy although we are managing to keep him stocked with chew-worthy toys. I gave him a really thick knotted rope toy today which he seems to love - but his big strong teeth are going to make short work of it, I’m afraid. I’m guessing all his teeth will be in within a month so hoping the chewing subsides.

Still loving my lenses, and loving being able to see so well.

Dark with orange today.

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.