Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lovely in tones of winter

When I first developed an interest in birds in my yard, I would look at every House Finch and hope that it was a Purple Finch.  I'd take photos and send them to a birder friend who would always reply "when you see a Purple Finch, you'll know."  He was right.  It was several years before I'd see my first one at the feeders and I knew immediately.  Purple finches have a stockier appearance and both male and female have much more pronounced facial markings.  Take a look at the female House Finch HERE - you can see the difference very quickly, right?

I took a short break this afternoon and crept outside to sit quietly and wait for the birds to come in.  Soon enough a big group of House Finches arrived and in among them was this lovely female Purple Finch.  She posed ever so briefly on a bare stem of a vine in my garden, with the soft palette of the winter woods behind her.  The light was perfect as it tends to be on winter afternoons.

Hubs went to visit his mom for lunch today so I took Jax to the park for a walk, which he loved.  Hardly any people there, but there was one guy who stopped to admire and pet Jax.  He asked what he was and I replied "supermutt".  Some people are put off by pit bull mixes so I find it easier to just say he's a beautiful mutt, which he is, of course.  I'm surprised how many people stop to say what a beautiful color he is - something about brindle dogs, I think,.  And of course, I think he is very handsome.

I missed the signals that he wanted out this morning so he stood right on the living room rug in front of me, squatted, and peed.  I immediately said "NO" and got a leash on him and took him out.  He knew he did wrong so there was no point in making a big scene.  He had a good long pee outside and then I cleaned up the little squirt inside.  First accident inside in over a week; he's learning.  

We got a call from the Dog Training Center today saying the trainer was sick so classes have been postponed by a week.  I decided to watch some tutorials on training him to Come and have started short lessons. He is already getting better about not mouthing us or jumping on people although more work to be done.   

And tomorrow we are off to NYC to meet up with Kura for a late lunch.  All restaurants require proof of vaccine so we feel relatively safe.  We'll stay masked until food comes and while we are navigating crowded sidewalks.  And it will be nice to be in my favorite city again.  SIL is puppy-sitting for us, so know that Jax will be in excellent hands.

Dark with almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.