Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Stark

I like images like this that isolate a subject against a stark background.  In particular, I like these kinds of images featuring snowy backgrounds.  So when I huddled outside, I took care to position myself so that this particular perch had a field of snow behind it.  We don't have a lot of snow left so I had to reposition myself a few times to get it right - and every time one repositions, one that has to wait for the birds to come back. And then to perch on the right perch, at the right angle, at the right moment.  All part of the fun of photography, really.  I had a similar shot of a titmouse that I quite liked, but since I just posted a 'mouse yesterday I thought I'd go with this white-throated sparrow today.  I have cropped this image and adjusted the exposure to lighten it a bit more.  I thought about going really dramatic and lightening it so that just the edges of the bird showed, but I just couldn't bring myself to do it.  Maybe another day.

Right after I came inside, the precipitation started - icy rain.  It is already getting very icy outside and will probably only get worse.  Good day to be inside. Unfortunately, our fireplace isn't usable at the moment because we are waiting for a replacement flue "lever" to arrive so I'm counting on Jax to provide me with some cuddly warmth.

MIL seems to be feeling okay and so far, no fever.  She is being well cared for and Hubs is seeing her a couple of times a day (in full PPE of course).  Hopefully this is as bad as it will get.  A big thanks to all who've sent prayers and good wishes to her - very much appreciated.

I think plain dark today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.