A day in the life

By Shelling

Christmas buffet

I stayed at home all day because my cold made it impossible to join my neighbours family, where I was invited to a Christmas dinner. I tried my best to get well during the morning but an hour before, I cancelled and decided to make my own Christmas buffet at home. A Swedish Christmas table can contain many different things, mostly there is a mixture of cold and warm dishes to choose from. My table contained what I found in the fridge, luckily I had bought enough food to last over the weekend so I was fine and had a lovely meal.

Swedish Christmas is today, on Christmas eve, the 24th. Dinner is eaten with the close family gathered and the children gets their presents after the annual Disney show, "Donald Duck and his friends wish you a merry Christmas". The show has been on Swedish tv for 60 years. Many attempts has been made to remove it and change it for something else but the protests from the people has been too strong so it's still running. Sweden holds on to its traditions firmly, they might change slightly but won't disappear. 

We did get a white Christmas after all, not at all common in the southern parts where I live but the temperature stayed below zero and the little snow that fell last night has stayed. It makes the short day a whole lot lighter and the cold weather dries the air a bit, which makes it easier to breath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.