Boxing Day colour

Most of the cyclamen on the balcony have gone, but the ones in the railing pot are still doing quite well. Perhaps they benefit from more light than the others.

I stayed at home today, mainly doing preparation for our upcoming trip. We’ve already taken a few things down to the car in preparation for tomorrow…not having a lift is a major pain in the posterior when we go anywhere. I’ve also started a new serious “day book”, but I won’t be taking it to Mull - Epidemics. It’s by a historian who is an honorary fellow at the institute I used to direct, and I get a brief thanks in the acknowledgements in my former directorial capacity. As he published the book just before Covid hit us, I want to see what his interpretation of the historical record will be. So far, his main thesis is that contrary to the dominant historiographical trend, in most cases pandemics or epidemics did not occasion notable hostility towards “others” or outsiders. It’s an extremely fat heavy book, so I may not read the whole thing….

Aside from that, I did some spinning bike exercise (and figured out how to delete my previous “personal records”, because there is no way post covid that I want to compare myself against the version of myself that I was in the summer of 2021) and then made a wild boar ragu to have with spaghetti for dinner, with the leftovers from yesterday. It was very tasty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.