Not Black Bun

Black bun is traditionally served at Hogmanay. It is a very long time since I have partaken of, far less made my own, black bun. By this time of year I've usually eaten my body weight in pastry what with mince pies and the like.

But it is a good thing to have some kind of cake to offer guests at New Year. I like a good sticky, fiery gingerbread. I've made this recipe loads of times so quite why it fell in the middle today I don't know. A bit disappointing but I think I'll salvage something of it.

I doubt I'll have many/any first footers after the bells. Although I'd never turn anyone away at New Year I'm not sure that I really want visitors in covid times. But just in case there will be a gingerbread growing stickier by the day.

Dreadful weather. I've not even been outside. I'll have to brave it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.