Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In and around Humshaugh today

It was fine and I went for a walk after lunch. It took me a long time to do my "round the block" walk, because so many other people were out.

First it was Billy, the dog, with Maurice, his owner. Billy has just had surgery for cherry eyes and this is his first day without the collar of shame. He is always full of energy and mischief.

Roger and Liesbeth joined our conversation, (first extra). I took a photo of all three, Maurice (left of image) has handed the lead to Liesbeth. 

When I walked past the school, I saw that the playground was underwater (second extra). I had no idea how heavily it had rained last night.

The roundabout at Chollerford had been flooded. I waited and hoped that someone would not slow down enough.....

Margret returned yesterday from her Christmas break with family. She had gashed one leg on Christmas Day, then on Monday, she tripped and fell onto a hard tile floor in the kitchen. She has a very large haematoma on the back of her head and has been very shaken up. I saw her this afternoon. The trouble is that she does not understand the words "you must rest quietly"! (Margret will be reading this tonight!!)

Our Christmas present of a small, plastic goat had flummoxed her. It was wrapped in several layers of paper and I'd told her it was fragile. It represented a goat which has been gifted to a woman in Burundi. We gave goats to five people this Christmas and was able to cause fun and confusion with the use of the plastic goats. I think they all like the presents (once they understood them)!

We plan a quiet and early night. Tomorrow there may be celebrations!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.