Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Marjorie models her new jacket

I found myself inviting 3 friends to eat with us on New Year's Day. They were Julie and the other Marjorie (both with us for Christmas) and Margret (next door).

 I suddenly realised I might be short of one or two ingredients so I beetled off the the village shop this morning and found everything I wanted. Julie was happy to buy fresh cream for me and bring it along. (Wait for it!)

I realise that cooking a meal with a souffle is rather ambitious and needs lots of utensils for the preparation, but I had not really factored the time I needed into the equation.  Nor the fact that poor Julie had an accident with the cream. One carton was punctured by something else in her bag and spilled in her car. She decided to bring it in for the rest to be salvaged, but that spread itself throughout her carrier bag, inside and outside and over her. It is quite amazing how far double cream can spread.

We had a delightful challenging time cleaning cream from the hall and stair carpet and from Julie clothes etc. 

Once she had had time to calm herself, I gave her the job of assembling the prawn cocktail. I loved it! (Showing my age I guess.)

We had savoury carrot layer (Cranks recipe), mashed potato (the masher was missing........), sprout purée with lemon and nutmeg (I won't bother again) and cauliflower.

The pud was bread and butter pudding made by the other Marjorie.

I missed out of quite a lot of conversation as I faffed on and cooked veg etc. Next time, I will do something less time consuming. Christmas Day was easier.

Marjorie brought along a jacket she has had knitted for her by a local fashion designer. It is bright turquoise. I had difficulty processing the image because of the busy curtains behind  her.so you have to imagine the colour. You can see the pattern.

After the others had gone, Julie and I sat down with a drink (Baileys - J, whisky - M) until the dishwasher had gone through. Then we tackled the next mound of dishes.

It was excellent to start the new year with friends. Lots of laughter and good conversation.

Happy New Year to all my blipfriends far and near.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.