Shelves

This afternoon I assisted daughter J in the task of putting together some shelving. It had been in the apartment, and then was in storage for about seven  months, since when it has waited for us to have the inclination to put it together, and having all in the new house ready to modify. 

This placement is both long term and temporary. Temporary because we are intending to change the door and windows facing the roadway within the next month or three. Long term because this place in the sitting room is where it will remain give or take minor adjustment.

The shelves have provided a good space for S to display her loved pieces of sculptured glass as well as somewhere for favourite books. One other result is the emptying of four boxes which until now have been in my new study.

A new year has begun, as we count these things. When I was much much younger I thought that it would make things easier if there were 13 months of 28 days with one extra day (two in leap years) as a World Day of rest. Interesting how younger versions of me had the presumption to think I could know best.

In the meantime I wish everyone a good 2022 and hope that the ordinary citizens join together to provide a safe future for all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.