Winning at Catan

If not for the pandemic, today we would have hosted a games afternoon/evening for a big bunch of friends, as we did on 1st January 2020 and 1st January 2019.

Instead today we invited Bruce and Elly over for a simple supper (Lochinver pies and profiteroles for the meat eaters, kidney bean stew and Swedish glace ice cream for the vegan), and a couple of games of Catan. Mummy hazelh was a partial participant. She enjoyed the food and drink while observing the play.

Mr hazelh was very aggressive in the first game, encouraging the others to go after persecute me. This strategy worked well for him. Bruce and Elly were convinced that I was their biggest threat so focused all their attention on blocking my progress. They shouldn't have been so surprised when Mr hazelh made his sneaky win.

In the second game I had the advantage of placing my initial settlements last. I was pleased with the options available and was able to capitalise on these to race to 10 points just in time to beat Mr hazelh to another win. Those who know the game should be able to work out from the blip how I achieved this.

Earlier in the day I continued work on the journal article that I picked up yesterday.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.