Let the New Year begin

Before midnight Helena and I walked up the hill to the Chapels of Rest in the old cemetery. It is a wonderful place to look out across the Golden Valley and down over the town centre where the other four valleys join to head west towards the river Severn.

The view only comes into play at midnight when the fireworks begin and you can then see their lights for miles, as well as the delayed booms and crackles. We knew that Rodda, our local landlord of the Crown and Sceptre, would put on his inimitable show, just a hundred yards below where we were standing so our viewpoint couldn't be bettered.

As the hour approached so did a stream of young people in goods spirits, and together we shouted out 'Happy New Year'.  Helena and I kissed each other, and sipped from a tiny bottle of special whisky she gave me from her Scottish trip. I clicked my camera a few times from our perch standing on a bench just behind some of the group rather in hope, as I've never been very good at catching firework displays.

I hope the next year brings easier and happier times. I wish you all well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.