Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

St Swithun upon Kingsgate

Yes, I have blipped this little church before, but what I'm comparing it to for ApolloFly's MM415 is another of Winchester's inner city churches, St Lawrence.  What I love about both places is the absolutely successful lighting (both natural and artificial) that makes blipping these ancient buildings such a joy.

This little church sits on top of Kingsgate, one of only two remaining medieval gateways to the city.  There a very steep little stair to get up to it.  For centuries it was where pilgrims came to offer thanks for their safe arrival, before venturing further into the city.

So many thanks to Apollofly for hosting today's challenge on the theme of 'best of last year'.

And wishing you all a happy evening  xx

PS: it's becoming clear I will only be able to do limited commenting tonight.  My arm's nagging at me and I've only just started.  Please don't feel you have to comment on mine either..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.