Cold Morning, Short Walk

We might expect snow
today, so a quick jaunt will
have to do for now

~ carliewired

The wind whisked around the house last evening after dark. I see this morning that it has sculpted the snow once again. No new snow yet, but it's coming. 

I decided I'd better get out there before the snow started so I left the house before 8 heading across the bridge to Mission Flats along the south shore. 

I wasn't sure if I'd find any place to park with all the accumulation of snow we now have. The sides of the roads are mounded up leaving little safe parking. I managed to find a worn down spot at the end of the road where I could park and turn around safely. I stepped out into a cold wind. We've stepped back into winter with a temperature of - 13 C at 9 AM. The windchill factor made it -21 C. I got a shot to the west looking over the Thompson River to Battle Bluff beside Kamloops Lake. I looked east to see my mountains behind Mission Flats Road. All the summer vegetation has been freeze-dried now and mostly buried in snow. I turned the truck for home and headed off. Not half a mile along I spotted some eagles in a tree beside the river. I found a clear flat space to park and walked back to the tree. One eagle remained and I was happy to catch him although he was looking rather disgruntled. Fishing must not be very good today. The river looks frozen. 

I was home by 9 and desperate for my morning coffee. I'm expecting a furnace techie shortly to sort out my heating issues. 

It will be a quiet day at home. I will puddle around the kitchen. 

We have a forecast of a high of -13 C with periods of snow and drifting snow. It's a great day to be home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.