Devastation

What a wet and dreich day.  It pretty much rained all day until late afternoon.  So miserable.  We kept looking out to check when it seemed to be getting brighter, but it was ll relative and it just kept on raining.  I made a start on my  new book, which is in complete contrast to the one I have just finished.  I also got a new jigsaw out.  Not new – one I started last Christmas holidays, but t hen put away as too tricky with the excuse of not enough time when I went back to work and also not enough decent light.  It is very challenging and just getting it out of the box was quite overwhelming, knowing that I had given up on it previously.  Anyway, I very helpfully didn’t break up all the bits I had done, so some of them were in the box which has given us a wee bit of a head start.  Wish us luck!
 
Eventually the rain seemed to ease off very late afternoon.  TT and I went for a walk at John Muir Country Park and we saw first-hand the devastation caused by Storm Arwen – so many trees uprooted and those that weren’t uprooted were just snapped in two like pencils.   The paths through the woods are impassable, but the perimeter paths have been cleared.  It’s very post-apocalyptical.  The woods must have taken he full blast of the storm.
 
It was dark by the time we got back to the car and we saw the West barns Christmas tree all lit up.  It’s a massive tress in the village which has been covered in Christmas lights – just amazing.  BB had his first football training of 2022 tonight – it doesn’t seem like much of a break- but they have two games later this week.   TT and I finished watching Stay Close and then moved on to 24 Hour Party People – I gave up on that!
 
This blip and the extra don’t even begin to show the scale of the devastation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.