Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Sonning Sunset

After the very grey afternoon walk yesterday, I was very glad to see some stunning colour on my walk this afternoon! This is along the Thames at Sonning. I’m sure I’ve blipped these trees before - I love them this time of year! For those who may not be familiar - those ‘blobs’ in the trees are not birds nests - they’re mistletoe!

I was glad to get out because it was a sunny day but I was glued to the TV for much of it. Today was the last day of the Tour de Ski - the cross-country ski tournament - 6 days of skiing over 8, in 3 countries. Most of my friends think I’m watching downhill when I say I’m a big skiing fan. But cross-country is much different and far more interesting, in my opinion, with several different kinds of races. I say I much prefer watching people ski UPHILL! And today’s race is probably the most extreme example - a 10k course with the second half going UP an alpine slope! The gradient is as high as 28% in places. See this short video for the highlights.

My favourite skiers haven’t had a good few days of racing, but those who got on the podium worked hard and deserved their medals!

I’m looking forward to the Olympics next month and just hope nothing happens to jeopardise them - have just heard that the next cross-country World Cup event in France later this month has been cancelled because of covid!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.