See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

Two for Joy

Well I hope so because I could really do with some joy at the moment.
I saw a glimpse of the sun this morning so I decided to brave the freezing cold wind and go to my favourite nature reserve, it's a bit of a drive but I really like it there. I wrapped myself up well against the weather, actually I felt quite silly in a furry trapper hat and scarf when the wind dropped and the sun came out but it kept clouding over so I didn't take it off. When I arrived at the hide there were several people in there and a large TV camera - apparently they were filming cormorant nesting behaviour for the BBC's One Show and the nature reserve staff member was very excited when he told me about it in hushed tones. They let me stay a while to watch them while they manoeuvred their small toy remote controlled boat covered with nesting material across the water in the hope that the cormorants would swoop down and take some. There were lots of cormorants about collecting nest material but none of them would oblige the camera team and the boat's battery eventually ran down and had to be changed, which is where I left them, so I hope they were successful in the end. I have no idea when it is due to be broadcast as we were not supposed to talk in the hide. I continued my walk and got some nice photos but decided to go with the magpies in the hope that they might bring me some joy :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.