An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Rude (ill) health!

Woke up just before 9am with my phone pinging, after a fairly decent sleep. It was our friend T messaging us to see if we wanted him to get anything from Gloagburn.  D replied saying we didn't need anything.  I replied saying gingerbread (theirs is the best!) and a jar of their chilli jam :-)

David brought me a bowl of cereal.  Although we both have covid we're still quarantining separately and wearing masks when David comes in the room.  I'm stuck upstairs as the through-floor lift goes down into Alan's sitting room and I don't want him exposed to my covid bugs by using the lift and opening the gap between his and my room.

The antivirals have arrived at last.  They were in a bag marked urgent - must be delivered in 24 hours - Clinical trial - next day delivery.  The package was stamped 4th January!  Took the first dose (4 tablets) and set my alarm for 10pm as the second dose has to be taken 10 hours later.

David came back into the room a short while later with a vase full of beautiful flowers, a balloon and chocolate that had been delivered together for me, but the florist's greeting card was blank.  No clue as to who they're from.  I mentioned it on FB and pretty soon got a message from my pal Peter's mum saying they were from her.  Thank you again Edith, they are beautiful and really cheered me up :-))  

My hip was so sore when I got up I didn't think I would be able to get showered but a mix of sheer determination, clenched teeth and very fast lathering saw me done in less than half the time it normally takes.  And I felt a bit brighter after it.

A late lunch as we both nodded off in our respective rooms, waking up just as our friend T left the gingerbread and chilli jam on the doorstep.  There were also two Gloagburn scones :-). Great timing.

I have felt a bit brighter this afternoon.  Hardly coughed and only had to blow my nose a couple of times.  LFT still positive.  

I crochet for a little while but I really don't have the concentration for it at the moment.  Keep making silly mistakes.  Think I will leave it for a day or two.

David and I had a FaceTime conversation.  Despite his poorly head and cold symptoms, which are worse than mine, he looks in rude health!  Notice I deliberately didn't include the shot of me in the top right hand corner of the FaceTime screen for fear of causing you major trauma!  It's not a pretty site!  To think only a week ago we were all glammed up for Hogmanay and here I am now, pasty pale skin and hair that the birds could nest in!  David is looking particularly happy in this shot as I'd just told him that once we recover we should have super immunity to covid for about 6-8 months, which means we can live normally again for a little while, without fear of catching covid.  Every cloud :-))

After our conversation we both nodded off in our respective rooms, then for dinner David chucked a ready-made chicken pasta bake in the oven with some garlic bread.  Unfortunately I couldn't eat it as I'd been on my feet just prior to him bringing it upstairs, and I was having major trauma trying to sit back down on the bed again.  My hip just goes into the most painful spasm and it's takes quite a while for it to relax and let me sit properly.  By the time that happened the food was cold and the notion had gone off me.  I had toast instead. 

And so ends Day 7 of my quarantine.  Still testing positive on the LFT.

    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.