Shabby shepherd

Wet all day today, so I took the car instead of walking down to 'Pets at Home' to buy a new light for the fish tank. I always laugh when I see their strapline - 'Where pets come first'. I want to add 'And come back again'!
 
An indoor Blip then. I've just begun this book 'A Shepherd's Life', by W.H.Hudson. He was born in Argentina of USA immigrant parents in 1841 and emigrated to London in 1874. He wrote a number of books about the English countryside, many of them set in Wiltshire, including this one. I can't remember where I got it - I'm usually meticulous in recording my book purchases! It's very shabby, obviously got wet at some point and the binding's coming apart. What the dealers would call a 'reading copy'!
 
It was first published in 1910, and this is the 7th edition from 1924. I bought it to read up about shepherding on Salisbury Plain as my 5 x great-grandfather, David Saunders, was a shepherd on the plain in the latter part of the 18th century. He was known as ‘The Shepherd of Salisbury Plain’ and Hannah More, the religious writer and friend of William Wilberforce, wrote a tract about him in 1795.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.