Journey Through Time

By Sue

Heuchera or Coral Bells

I guess this would be called an emergency blip. We just had a heavy downpour, then there was a break in the rain, so I went outside. Our heuchera is getting new leaves and beginning it's growth for the new year. This one we have had for a few years and it is gorgeous, I think. I don't remember the name of this one, but it has the silvery top and the red color underneath. The veining is beautiful and this one will be getting bigger and bigger. It does well in full sun, unlike a lot of heuchera. The general rule of thumb is that dark colored heuchera can take the sun, light colored ones go in the shade. Every season there seems to be new varieties and I am enchanted with all of them, for some reason. If they are combined with the right plants, it can look quite pretty. After fussing around with photos, I am calling it good with this image, even though it's not what I really want. In January I stepped off of our highest step, going out to the garage, and I had a sharp pain right above my knee. I didn't do a dang thing about it, except put ice on it now and then. I asked my new doctor about it and he said that is a quadricep sprain...and said I should get a flexible knee brace to wear when I am walking for any distance. After bending over and fussing with the photo, I could tell my leg wasn't happy.. so with the weather and my leg.....this is the result! ha (he did give me an exercise to do, also.)

It is a tropical rain pattern so it's actually quite mild outside, but more rain is on the way. After we were up at the Ridgefield wildlife refuge, I could see that we need rain. Some of the lakes were drying up already. So, this rain is welcome, actually.

It's very quiet, birdwise. They must be all on their nests. I did hear the crows raising a ruckus...or the blue jays. I can't really tell them apart sometimes, when they are screaming. And I did hear jets...which sounded like the Oregon Air Guard above the clouds....protecting us from crackpot N. Koreans, I suppose.

Catch ya later, dearies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.