Capital adventures

By marchmont

The view from my seat

Today's plans were Covid affected, not me but tangentially.  First A, our principal, messaged to say she's tested  +ve.  We spoke last night and she was fine but this morning a different story.  We were due to have a Teams meeting with some colleagues so that was cancelled. The gift of time! Later the suggested walk with E was also cancelled.  She is also poorly and despite having none of the old classic symptoms her's did seem similar to A's. We decided that discretion etc etc was and she went off to book a PCR.  Sure she'll be ok.

I'd spent the morning emptying my email inbox (why? I hear you ask.  Don't know) and then moved on to ordering more paint samples.  Soon I'll be able to paint the wall with samples. Cleaned the kitchen and started a letter to former neighbours in Inverurie.  

After the walk was abandoned I finished the letter which is about the weird coincidence of my having lived in the house built by the my grandfather that I never knew half brother's son, i.e. a cousin, albeit distant. Even stranger as I never knew until I started doing my family history that I had roots in NE Scotland but I did.  Destined to return?  And tragically that distant cousin took his own life in the kitchen, 34 years before we bought the house.  Finishing the letter got me immersed in Scotland'speople trying to track forward the Kintore/Inverurie Hendersons and the Spences.  Willow just observed.

Before I knew it it was dark outside so another day passed with no long walk.  Just as well I do that 50 minutes in the pool!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.