Another kingfisher visit

Another sunny morning, and I was back in Endcliffe Park, this time to see if I could spot one of the pair of kingfishers that can be seen in the winter around one of the ponds there. Today the light was better than when I visited (and blipped) the other week.
When I got there at 9, the path by the pond was crowded with Saturday morning runners - in their hundreds. I now know there is a weekly mass run from 9 to 10 a.m. on Saturdays.
So I went off for an hour's walk in the other direction, and came back at 10. This time the only other hopeful photographer was a young girl, aged somewhere between 10 and 12  at a guess. It really was lovely to be in her company. She was completely intent on watching for the kingfisher; we exchanged a few comments, but mainly we just shared the quiet moments. And she's good. She showed me one of her shots, a lovely one taken the other day. Neither of us managed to capture the kingfisher in flight, but we both enjoyed watching as the bird eyed up the morning's fishing opportunities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.