Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Which ones went first?

Today Eric and Kay came for lunch and to celebrate my imminent birthday. 

They brought beautiful white tulips for me and a box of macaroons for Mum. This is something she can eat easily and she likes them. We both had one during the afternoon. You have to guess the flavour!

I had made a new soup for lunch. It was carrot with ginger and cannelloni beans. I also added turmeric because there  were quite a few comments that said it was weak on flavour. We all loved it.

Now that I pick up recipes online, I find I can't always go back to the ones I've used and liked. Recipe books were easier in some ways. The same thing happened later when I wanted to cook a carrot cake (aka birthday cake). I'm sure it's not the recipe I used last time because there was too much mixture for my two tins.

I put the excess into cake papers and they have turned out very well. 

The cake was made later in the day. In the meantime, we had a lovely afternoon with Eric and Kay. They are brilliant company and always make us feel cheerful.

See tomorrow for the next instalment in the birthday saga!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.