Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Still in my seventh decade

Tomorrow is the big day, but today Julie, the other Marjorie and Margret (next door) came for Sunday lunch. I ordered a take-away from The Crown (just down the road). The food was very tasty and it was much easier for me than cooking the dinner myself. After all, I'm nearly quite elderly!!

We ate and chatted and ate. Margret brought a fruit salad for dessert.

Much later in the afternoon, I brought out the carrot cake I baked last night. I found a zero candle and then 3 stars and 4 pink striped ones. That was a good representation of 70 in my mind. I also found a firework type candle that should have gone on Mum's 100th birthday cake.

The cake recipe was excellent. I really must save this one for posterity.

I wonder how I will feel tomorrow?

Forgot to say - this morning Daisy brought me an early birthday present, probably a mouse, but she released it behind the bookcase on the upstairs landing. I could see her from my bed. She guarded it for a long time. I was not going to empty the bookcase this morning, so I let sleeping mice lie and I've set traps tonight. Poor little thing, but I don't want it chewing books/cables or carpet, not do I want a family of mice to be born on the landing.

Life with cats is fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.