Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The big day came and went

Today I reached my "three score years and ten". The only way to look is forward and I intend to. I have all sorts of things I would like to do in the next decade. 

When I opened the curtains, I saw that Margaret (across the road) had put up birthday bunting in the garden and left a lovely card and a present for me. What a great start to the day.

Ann and Alistair came for lunch. Ann made the soup (lovely carrot and lentil), I remembered to bake the bread (just in time), there was a cheese board. Ann also brought a small, but perfectly formed, lemon birthday cake. I had a special candle which opened in the shape of a lotus flower. Eight small candles lit and the flower rotated on its base while if played Happy Birthday.

Great fun, but Happy Birthday was still playing several hours later. It has been banished to the garage where we can't hear it. There is no off switch!!

Alistair briefly dozed off. I was glad that he felt so comfy and relaxed and hope he will forgive me for taking the photo.

There were cards, presents and flowers. I'm a lucky girl.

Tonight Brian and Margaret (across the road) came for dinner. I did baked salmon covered in lemon juice and yoghurt and topped with a mixture of breadcrumbs, red peppers, lemon rind, garlic and chilli flakes. Very yummy.

We had carrot cake for dessert and I found the last sparkler candle.

The dishwasher was emptied, loaded and set to work. The kitchen looks less chaotic and tomorrow we should be back to normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.