Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Looking north

After a wild night, the weather was calmer (and colder) this morning.

I set off after a very early lunch, and started to walk on Teppermoor Hill. There is a circuit I like to do. I think I had forgotten just how long it is.......

This meant that I was not back home to give Mum lunch. I contacted Margaret (across the road) to see if she could go and do lunch and she was free and she did! Hooray for good friends and neighbours.

Although I had the big camera with me, this was my favourite image of the day. The water has collected in the ditch to the north of Hadrian's Wall. There is some debate about whether the ditch was a defensive one to trap the northern marauders as they came south, or whether it was a conduit for goods. The Vallum, to the south, is a flat bottomed ditch and it is thought to have been a way to transport goods and soldiers easily.

I could see snow on the Cheviots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.