Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Standing on water?

Last year I was booked to go to Iceland in February with a friend, and this was cancelled due to Covid. The trip was rolled forward to 2023 as so many of the organiser's trips were cancelled that he could not fit them all in for 2022. Yesterday evening I received an email from the organiser to say that there were some cancellations on his current Iceland trip and he now had two spare places for 2022 - a flurry of WhatsApp's took place between my friend and I and it looks like we are going to Iceland next month instead of next year!

Since the pandemic and lockdowns I have become less spontaneous and more reluctant to do things on the spur of the moment, so last night I slept really badly trying to get my head around going on this trip. This morning I had to check all my 'technical' clothing to see if it was suitable and I do need to get in a few bits and pieces, as in those harsh winter conditions you really do have to wear the correct clothing and proper footwear or else it will be miserable. Luckily Gavin has a quiet week for when this trip is planned and he can work from home and look after Xena. After the past few days when I have been suffering with my hands Gavin had already ordered me some heated gloves so hopefully they will be good enough for the cold of Iceland.

Last night we finished watching The Tourist....it started out great but went a bit bizarre in the middle and then had one of those all too common nowadays unresolved endings.

It was foggy again on our walk this morning, although not as thick as yesterday. These gulls look like they are standing on water as I think the thin layer of ice on the pond is covered by the water above it. 

And tomorrow a very special person turns 21!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.